Cruise day 73 – PV

Morning weigh-in: 96.2kgs

  • Daily LOSS 0.5kg/1.1lbs
  • Total lost 16.1kg/35.42lbs

Watercheck –1.5l by 21.30

Breakfast

  • oatbran porridge
  • 2x microwaved eggs
  • cup of tea

Lunch

  • lean beef bolognese

Afternoon snack

  • Muller light
  • Mug of tea

Late afternoon snack

  • Muller light
  • Mini babybel light (oops! overshot my TF allowance!)

Dinner

  • Chicken salad with lettuce, capsicum, tomato, onion and a low fat dressing
  • 1 glass of wine with a friend

Exercise

  • 50 mins walking around the Meadows.

So, despite being down to the lowest weight yet, I’ve had a bit of a down day today.  I went for my walk but just couldn’t find my stride, and I was all emotional when I went past the pastries in the supermarket.  Someone I spoke to decided that it would be a good idea to dangle the idea of donuts infront of me: “mmm, bet you’d love a nice jam donut right now…”

Believe it or not, this is the first time I’ve had someone try to sabotage my diet in this way since I started – my workmates are all incredibly supportive, my boyfriend always checks to make sure I’m ok with him having a beer (bless his heart), my mum checks in on the blog regularly and offers encouragement.

So to have someone actually try to sabotage my diet – especially someone close to me, my older brother – was like a slap in the face.  I have difficulty resisting things if I’m faced with them or forced to think about them too much.  If I see a poster of something off-diet in the street, I’ll actually pointedly look away.  You know what happened to me the other day with the shortbread.  So going for a walk after having been forced to think about jam donuts – a massive weakness for me, which I’ve not gone near since I started the diet – made me get crankier and crankier.  My stride was off, it took me AAGES to get round a shortened route, and halfway through the route I had to stop, go to the supermarket and get groceries for dinner tonight – the lovely chicken salad.

And of course, what should be one of the items lining the aisle to the checkout?

You guessed it.

Jam donuts.

Of course, I didn’t partake, but I was SO angry by the time I got out of there.  Nearly snapped at the checkout chick, and wanted to strangle the neds who were walking behind me talking in their ugly neddish accents (a ned, for those who don’t reside in Scotland, is a Westie.  A bogan.  Kinda white trash…) And poor J bore the brunt of my annoyance when I got home, I was just miserable.

I usually come home from my daily walk feeling energised and optimistic.  Today I just felt drained and annoyed.

Perhaps it’s just that time of the month or something…

*sigh*

<<later>>

Well, I did end up doing something bad today – I had a glass of white wine with a friend who spontaneously dropped by.  The visit, and the wine, were both very much appreciated, and made me feel much better about life. 🙂  It would have been two glasses of wine, but Link the Kitten was bouncing around the room like some sort of cat hopped up on feline ecstacy, and managed to put his WHOLE foot in my initial full glass of wine.  I’ll be damned if I’m drinking wine which has had a litter-box foot dipped in it…

Link, bless him – he’s looking out for my diet too.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sharon MacKay on August 28, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    Hey Charlotte

    I read your blogs everyday and I’m enjoy reading your Dukan journey. I live in Edinburgh too so it’s good to read about things & places that I’m familiar with. I felt I had to write today just to give you my support and tell you that you are doing brilliantly. I didn’t have a huge amount to lose (21lbs) & I’ve now reached my Dukan target weight, although I’m going to push on for another 4/5lbs. I am bit (quite a bit) older than you but still feel that I’ve to put my life on hold for the past 4 months. I keep reminding myself that the end result is what I’m working towards and soon I’ll be able to sit down and have a meal like everyone else. Just hold on to that thought. I did start phase 3 when I was on holiday. It definitely wasn’t the right time. I felt like a loose cannon and started the panic a bit. Happily after 3 weeks in the States I only put on 3lbs which I have now lost again. I’ll have plan my day very carefully when I try it again. Keep going Charlotte. You can do it 🙂

    Reply

    • Hi Sharon!

      I think I covered it a bit in this evening’s entry, but I just wanted to say – thanks so much for your comment today! It really helped me out, and spurred me on to walk tall and lengthen my stride, head held high and enjoying every step!

      Congrats on reaching Consolidation – I feel like I still have ages to go, but I’m a bit nervous about getting there, a little scared that I’m going to go into loose-cannon mode myself. But it’s still months away for now – my projections are putting me there for about Christmas, and I’ve already agreed with J that for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day, all Dukan bets are off – we’re going to have a Proper Christmas with all the trimmings… 😉

      Thanks again for your marvellously encouraging comments! You really made my day!

      Charlotte x

      Reply

  2. […] I was really hungry and I could smell all the yummy food around me (I was a bit cross…like Charlotte!). I just closed my eyes and pictured myself at my goal weight and how that will feel and just like […]

    Reply

  3. well done sweetie =]
    your doing amazingly, i need to get organised like you and start doing some pre cooking to put in the freezer.
    keep going and keep us updated.
    Pearly
    xxx

    Reply

Leave a comment