Recipe: Oatbran Flaxmeal Foccacia style bread

Suitable for Cruise, Consolidation, Stabilization

Divided 6 ways, this recipe provides 2 tbsp oatbran and 2 tbsp flaxseed per serve.  Just right on Oatbran but perhaps needs refining for less flaxseed, which is currently above the daily allowed Dukan amount.  I’m considering swapping out half the flaxseed for wheatbran.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flaxseed meal (you can get this from healthfood stores or the wholefoods section at the supermarket, or make your own by grinding up whole linseeds/flaxseeds (they’re the same thing)
  • 1 cup oatbran
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp heat-stable artificial sweetener (like Splenda)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 5 eggs, well beaten

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 175C or 350F
  2. Mix all the dry ingredients
  3. Add the eggs and water, stir thoroughly.
  4. Allow the mix to stand for 5 mins or so, to allow it to thicken
  5. Pour the thickened mix onto a baking tray (I use an oven sheet underneath it to stop it from sticking – you can use parchment sheet)
  6. Spread out the mix until you’ve got a nice rectangular looking shape, at least 1/2 inch thick.
  7. Cook in oven for about 20 mins
  8. Remove, leave to stand for another 20 mins, then cut into six portions, allow to cool further then store in an airtight container.

I love this bread! I cut it in half, toast the halves, and spread with extra light philly and vegemite – YUM!

Stolen & adapted from this video recipe (which turned out way too oily – this recipe doesn’t need any extra added oil) which gives you an idea of how your bread should turn out.  I’d show you a picture of mine from this morning, but I ate it already. Om nom nom nom!

Flaxseed meal is totally good for you. It’s high in B vitamins, magnesium, manganese, Omega-3, soluble fiber, antioxidants, and has antiviral, antibacterial and cellular repairing properties.  It’s very low in carbs, very high in protein, and keeps you regular (but one needs to drink plenty of water with it, due to its soluble fibrous properties.)

So, one serving of this bread has about 1.3tbsp of flaxseed (when you turn it into meal, it bulks up.)  Dukan recommends 1tsp, so this is about four-times too much.  Like I said, it needs refining, but it’s PRETTY TASTY!!

UPDATE

So I tried out this recipe, replacing half of the above cup of flaxseed meal with wheatbran – so the new ingredient mix becomes:

  • 1/2 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/2 cup wheatbran
  • 1 cup oatbran
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp heat-stable artificial sweetener (like Splenda)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 5 eggs, well beaten

For some reason, with the extra wheatbran, the mix was a bit dry with only a 1/4 cup of water, so I upped it to about a half cup, and it seems to have worked fine.

This recipe still has almost twice as much flaxseed as Dukan recommends – nearly 2 teaspoons.  Personally I think it’s worth it for that lovely, seedy taste, and all the health benefits that flaxseed brings.  It’s funny, since I started having it, I’m finding cycling up a particularly challenging hill on my way back from work, MUCH easier.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cheryl on February 7, 2011 at 1:09 am

    Let me know if you try swapping wheat bran for half the flax and if it is ok

    Reply

    • Will do, Cheryl. I’m back on the porridge for the next couple of days, for a change – I’ll swap over to wheatbran later this week and tell you what the verdict is. 🙂

      Reply

    • Reporting back as requested, Cheryl – replacing half the flax with wheatbran is DEFINITELY a go-er!

      Also, I kinda forgot about the bread in the oven and “overcooked” it – ended up cooking for 50 mins rather than 20, and it seems to have improved it, I think. The crust is much crunchier now, which makes it better for toasting.

      I’m just about to amend the recipe! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by cheryl on February 13, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    How many servings does this make to make it acceptable to Dukan rules.

    Reply

  3. Posted by cheryl on February 14, 2011 at 3:36 am

    I made it today and oh does it ever taste good after 5 months with no bread. I can hardly wait to toast it and maybe even melt FF cheese on it.
    Thanks
    I hope it is ok to post it on my blog.

    Reply

    • Yay! I’m so glad you liked it, Cheryl! Of course you can post it to your blog – share the love! (but where IS your blog? I’m not sure I’ve matched name with blog yet…)

      Reply

  4. Posted by cheryl on February 14, 2011 at 3:38 am

    Oh and thank you so much for the Progress Spread sheet. I love it…

    Reply

  5. We’re loving this bread!
    hugs
    DAVE AND RUTH
    xxx

    Reply

  6. […] it’s just the consolidation phase that is a little tiresome. Anyhow I am going to try making this bread-like substance today in the hopes that it will increase the likelihood of my mum sticking to […]

    Reply

  7. […] Starter: carrot and celery sticks with skinny dip, and toasted Oatbran & Flaxseed bread […]

    Reply

  8. Posted by maria on September 10, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Hi, just trying this out, I was thinking of using some psyllium husk along with the flax meal. Not sure it’s dukan approved as such, but it has no carbs so I tend to use it. Have you heard of it?

    Reply

  9. […] yummy flax and oatbran bread, I have been meaning to post a link to the recipe, so here it is https://charlottesdukandiet.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/recipe-oatbran-flaxmeal-foccacia-style-bread/ Thank you so much for posting this […]

    Reply

Leave a comment