Recipe: Taco Mince

Charlotte’s Dukan Taco Mince
Suitable for Attack, PP & PV
Serves 4 people, or three hungry people 

Ingredients

  • 1kg extra lean beef mince
  • 2 onions, chopped fine
  • 4-5 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 3tbsp cumin
  • Maybe 3 tbsp of Toasted Special’s Fajita Mix (I make this in bulk in advance, it lasts for weeks!)
  • ½ cube of beef stock, ½ cube chicken stock
  • fresh ground pepper
  • 2 tbsp cornflour dissolved in ½ cup of cold water

Method

  1. soften the onion and garlic in a large pan or wok
  2. add the beef, cook till brown.  Be sure to break up any large pieces so you have an even consistency
  3. add the pepper, cumin, fajita mix, & stock cubes, stir well
  4. add the cornflour and water mix.  It will go quite gloopy at this point – feel free to add more water to help mix it all together – the excess water will all evaporate off.
  5. Allow the mix to cook for a while longer, stirring constantly.  If you have a non stick pan, let it sear (ie burn!) a bit on the bottom every now and then, and then stir the seared bits through – this really brings out the flavours!

Serve with fat free fromage frais and (if you’re on a PV day) a small amount of salsa.

Yum! 🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. This sounds delicious! Definitely something I could devour! How about for just one really hungry girl???!!! Haha. I think I’ll make this later this week, with tortillas for the boy.

    I suppose if one wanted a wrap, we could make an small egg white omelette and use it for wrap.

    Hmm….

    Reply

    • For one really hungry girl – I can’t emphasise enough how well this freezes! In fact, I make a double portion for J and me, and freeze the rest for when I can’t be arsed cooking. It also makes great lunches for work.

      You could try an egg white omelette and use it for a wrap, but honestly I suspect that it would fall apart on you. You could try mixing in some of your oatbran allowance to make a crepe, I suppose… But my oatbran allowance is too precious to me to waste on something that isn’t porridge or foccacia bread. 😉

      Cx

      Reply

  2. Posted by Emma on April 4, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Thanks a million for this, this is my favourite mince attack meal by far!! Even my non-dukanian husband loved it!

    Reply

    • Hurray! So glad you like it – we’re big fans in this household. In fact, I’m just taking a break from chopping onions from making it myself tonight! 😉

      Cheers,
      Charlotte

      Reply

  3. […] a quick note to say a couple of things. Firstly THANK YOU to Charlotte for her wonderful recipe of taco mince with yogurt. Had that for dinner and loved […]

    Reply

Leave a comment