Sorry!

I know, I’ve been so lax blogging recently. And lax on the diet. *sigh*  I’ve been slowly pulling myself out of the carb monster’s clutches – eating a bit less carb every day, and trying to remember what it was like to cook healthy food every day.  I’ve been having too much fat & carbs in my diet, and not enough protein. From tomorrow, that changes.  My weigh-in tomorrow will be a bit of a shock to my system, I suspect.  But from tomorrow, I make this pledge: to follow the plan as strictly as I can, and to get out for a walk on top of my normal cycling – for at least 30 mins every day.

Every day!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Charlotte,
    I have been exactly the same the past few weeks and this last week it has all gone to pot! I have had an ok day today but hope to get back in to it tomorrow. I should have reached the end of the cruise phase by now, according to the online coaching and still have a long way to go. Cue – wake up call!
    Good luck, you can do it!
    x

    Reply

  2. Posted by Diane on March 7, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    I have been on the Dukan since November 2010 and have lost about 30 lbs and am about 10lbs off my target weight. I have looked at a few pages of your blog, and this is not the Dukan diet that I know. One thing that I have realised doing the diet is that I need to change my attitude to food. I have spoken to slim friends, their idea of chocolate is a couple of squares, of biscuits, as one, max two. Unless we want to yo-yo diet for the rest of our lives, then once the weight is off, we need to learn how to maintain our weight. This is the biggest and most difficult hurdle we have to get through.

    Good luck with getting, and keeping, to 75 kg. Diane

    Reply

    • Hi Diane,

      I am WELL aware that my recent track record has not been very Dukan. I’ve been trying to continue blogging it to keep myself accountable, but Dukan’s been a long hard slog for me. Something I’m noticing when sharing stories with other fellow bloggers is, if you’ve got more than about 45lbs to lose, then things get tough. I flew to 40lbs lost – that was easy. Getting beyond that has been exceptionally difficult, even on days where I’m “perfect” on the diet – my body doesn’t seem to want to go any further, and nor does my brain. Trust me, I don’t need to be told what I should be doing. I BLOODY WELL KNOW what I should be doing.

      I had even managed to change my attitude to food before the sun went away for winter, and then I was stuck with no sunlight for 3 months – not pleasant. For me, exercise is key, everything else stems from exercise, and if I don’t have sunlight in which to do my exercise, then everything else that stems from that goes down the gurgler.

      If you want to see a model Dukanian, look at my blog posts from back before November – like I said, 40lbs is easy. Maintaining 40lbs has been pretty easy too. Getting past that is going to be a gargantuan effort, with very little payback. I’m resigned to this – the evenings are getting more and more light, and I’ve been getting out more for my evening walk.

      Why am I trying to justify myself to you?!

      Grr.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Sue on March 8, 2011 at 6:40 am

    Hi Charlotte
    Glad to see you getting back on track- I have much sympathy- lost 40lbs on weightwatchers, put half back on over time and played yo-yo with about 5 lbs fir the last year! It IS hard to maintain weight lost and even more hard to sustain the effort to get to your target weight. You can do it- when you are ready. Good luck, sue

    Reply

  4. Posted by Emma on March 8, 2011 at 11:51 am

    Charlotte, you’re doing great! So you’ve gone off track for a wee while, maybe your body needed the break. You’ll get back on the diet and lose the rest of the weight when YOU’RE ready and not before. You don’t need to justify yourself to anyone, you’ve been doing fab to (mostly) maintain your loss even though you’ve been off plan.

    I’m not going to tell you that you can do it because you ARE doing it.

    Emma x

    Reply

  5. Thankyou ladies. You could see my temperature rising, couldn’t you? 😉

    If nothing else though, getting mad when someone tells me, ‘ur doin it rong’ is enough to get me pissed off enough (mostly at myself) that I start thinking about ‘doin it right’ again. I went over old blog entries when I was going really well, and will attempt to replicate my days again. I have so far avoided the biscuit tin at work, and the lovely tray-bakes, and went on a mini-rampage last night throwing out all the easy-access carbs.

    *sigh*

    Reply

  6. Just keep motivated my dear……If your Dr. told you you are going to die if you do not eat ONLY Dukan in every way…you would do it……
    Well I am here to tell you you will shorten your life, you will gain back what you have lost, you will not like yourself, you will be very frustrated with your self and this pattern will go on and on…if you do not get back on to Dukan and believe that you will eat this way for the rest of your life (with tiny additions)….
    The big thing is being prepared and if you have a family or work, that is really hard..but NO ONE is more important than you right now….Take a day a week and cook all kinds of proteins, bread or muffins, cut up veggies to be ready to eat with dip or to grill or cook so there is never a time that you are not prepared….
    You can do it but you need to look at everything you put into your mouth and say “Is it Dukan friendly….Is it the correct type to eat” DO not waver…I bet you can stick to your guns about a lot of things in your life…now get strict with yourself…
    Cheryl from Canada, who has dieted and failed dozens and dozens of time….but is sticking to Dukan like glue…..
    Sent with love that you can be successful

    Reply

Leave a comment