Day five – Attack

Morning weigh in: 98.6kg

Daily LOSS: 0.2kgs / 0.44lbs
Total loss: 1.2kgs / 2.64lbs

Watercheck 5.2l – Skinny Cow hot chocolate, water, coffee, diet coke (with vodka) – yes, you read that right. It was mostly diet coke – I had 4 pints of it while out at the Edinburgh Fringe. So that’s 2 litres. Plus 2.5 litres of plain water at work. and two hot beverages of 350ml each – that’s 5.2l. I should voice, at this point, my official displeasure with The Pleasance venue (ironic much?) and their lack of ladies toilet facilities.

Breakfast

  • 3 microwaved eggs
  • oatbran porridge with sweetener & cinnamon
  • Skinny Cow hot chocolate – we were all out of coffee! Disaster!

Morning snack

  • 1 gluten free jalapeno sausage

Lunch

  • Chicken thigh pieces with carribean curry seasoning
  • 4 gluten free jalapeno sausages (I’m not sure I like these ones, actually)

Afternoon snack

  • Stewed rhubarb with fat free natural yoghurt and sweetener
  • two slices of ham with a little Cathedral City cheese grated on, rolled up and melted in the microwave (it tasted incredibly sinful)

Dinner

  • 2 quarter pound beef patties from a burger hut at The Pleasance Courtyard before Tom Lenk’s show.

Exercise

  • 25 mins cycling to and from work
  • 30 mins walking to and from Tom Lenk’s show at the festival

A good day – though I’m not sure that vodka counts as a tolerated food.

We went to see Tom Lenk (ie Andrew from Buffy) this evening at one of his only 2 shows at the Edinburgh Fringe. Β He was really good – his show was called Nerdgasm, and was all about the little “zing” you get when something nerdy happens. Though I think that he misnamed it a little – as far as my worldview goes, Geeks are cool (Geek Chic, anyone?) – but Nerds are not so much. But like I said, that’s just my own little nerdy view on the world. … uhhh, I mean geeky view. Whatever. Shut up.

I’M COOL AND HIP MAN!!! Don’t look at my startrek collection. I know you want to point out the fact that I have two copies of Firefly, one signed by the cast and the other to lend to people to convert them to the Best Show Ever. But don’t. Don’t point it out. πŸ˜‰

Hi, my name’s Charlotte, and I’m a Nerd. Fine. Happy now?

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeanne on August 13, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    I read those last three paragraphs to Cary, in the adjacent recliner. We had a good early-morning laugh — thanks for getting our Saturday started off right! πŸ™‚ That “ham roll-up with melted cheese” sounds like a great snack — might try that. Thanks! Enjoy the Fringe.

    Reply

    • HA! You’re very welcome. Glad I could bring some joy into your life. Oh! Did Erica tell you that she got asked by Tom to do some Audience Participation? it was brilliant. We had a quick chat with him after the show too – awesome. πŸ™‚

      Definitely try the ham-cheese thing. It’s not something I can do too often in Cruise, but it’s all good for you guys in consolidation, isn’t it?

      Cxxx

      Reply

  2. Firefly and Serenity are awesome, but then Nathan Fillion is brilliant. Have you see any of Castle (the series where he is a writer)? Slither was brilliant too – he’s hilarious. I don’t mind either geek or nerd. I don’t have one cool bone in my body and I don’t care!

    Reply

    • I KNOW! I love Filion… πŸ™‚ I’m a massive fan of all things Fillion, including Castle. Slither was awesome too.

      Geeks rule, LMC! πŸ™‚ yay!

      Reply

  3. I have just started the dukan diet for the first time and Im finding that blogging is good way of sticking to it as I feel less comfortable reavealing my failures in such a public place.( http://dukanchallenge123.blogspot.com/ ) I have definately got some inspiration from your blog so thank you. I just thought i’d ask about your watercheck. are you estimating the amounts? I am just thinking I have no way of telling how much I really drink during the day time at work as its not ideal bringing a measuring jug in. Any advice would be great.
    Best of luck with your attack phase!

    Reply

    • Hi Aimee!

      I totally hear you – blogging can really help you keep on the straight and narrow! πŸ™‚ It can be a double edged sword though – lots of people reading one’s blog can make one self-conscious when posting failures! Especially when there are crackpots out there who post all sorts of wierd comments – I never let any of those get published! If you ever find yourself getting a bit self-conscious, and feeling reluctant to post when you’ve slipped up, just remember that everyone in this little blogging community is really lovely, and everyone wants everyone else to succeed – and EVERYONE has slipped up on occasion. We all just pick ourselves and each other back up and keep on going. πŸ™‚

      In other words – WELCOME! πŸ™‚

      To answer your question about water – I have a lovely big glass at work which I know measures exactly 500ml, and generally I drink from pint glasses when I’m out. That helps me keep track – I just count how many of those glasses I’ve drunk. If I drink from a glass that’s less than a pint, I compare it to the size of a can of coke, which is 330ml – but I round it down to 300ml for ease. I also ended up measuring all my favorite coffee/tea mugs so I know exactly how much I’m drinking there too.

      I hope that helps! πŸ™‚

      Charlotte xxx

      Reply

  4. Thanks for the advice Charlotte, very useful. I may get a special glass for work which I have measured or take a plastic cup home with me to measure. Im sure I am taking in enough water, much more than I ever have before. I look forward to reading your blog each day as it gives me some ideas of what to eat because lets face it just protein can sometimes be rather boring even with vegetables. Let me know when you try the cauliflower rice, sounds amazing, ill let you know how it is if i try it but I have a fridge full of meat and eggs to get through before i get too many more ingredients.

    Hope next week goes well for you

    Aimee xxx

    Reply

Leave a comment