Day 66 – Re-determination day. :)

OK, so I have no more excuses. The house, while still being not-very-unpacked, is now at a state where things are getting more manageable. J and I have finally sorted out our desks in the office (very important for a pair of computer geeks) so I feel like life is a bit more under control.

Also? I found a job! Yay! šŸ™‚ It’s just about the perfect outcome – a nice redundancy payout, I get paid for my notice period but don’t have to work most of it (so get almost a month of pay to potter around the house and get my life in order) AND I walk straight into a new job with better pay and better development opportunities. It doesn’t really get much better than that.

So. I can’t use the excuse that I’m stressed out/looking for work/moving house. None of that washes now. And I really need to kick myself in the butt, because I have eaten mostly crap since I last blogged. We spent the evening erecting (*smarmy sniggering*) Ikea furniture, and had pizza to reward ourselves. Not good. It doesn’t help that the nearest shop is now a bit further away. The nearest shop is also one of Edinburgh’s biggest supermarkets, so nipping in for some chicken breasts is not a quick affair. Again, this is no excuse, it just means that I need to be more organised.

Last night, I had a Derby web committee meeting, and our lovely hostess made the most delish chicken and leek pie. I ate the crust, AND the potato. Bad Charlotte, no cookie. However, the filling was, I think very appropriate for Dukan. She shared the recipe with me, and I’m going to try it out with a few Dukan amendments, and see how we go. She’s also seen this blog and is determined to start Dukan tomorrow – another incentive for me to get back on the wagon. Hi Maul! šŸ™‚

So. Weigh-in tomorrow, post-pizza. It’s not gonna be pretty, I can tell you that. But you’re not judging, right? šŸ˜‰

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Claire on October 12, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Hi Charlotte,

    My husband and I have been on Dukan fr 6 weeks. Motivated by your fab Blog!

    I was struggling earlier and you were no where to be seen – maybe eating pizza!

    Our numbers are 32 for him and 20 for me.

    Glad to have you back!,

    Reply

  2. Hi Claire! Yep, was probably eating pizza, I’ll put my hand up and own to that. Naughty girl.

    But not from tomorrow. šŸ™‚

    Well done on your loss so far – what a great result in 6 weeks! You and your hubby must be so chuffed. I’ll follow your good example and stay on plan properly from now on.

    Cxx

    Reply

  3. Oh Charlotte we are rooting for you. It is hard to get back into the swing of things but you can. Your blog has been so inspiring for so many of us.

    Go Girl Go.

    You deserve your best effort. Kath

    Reply

  4. So good to hear from you, Charlotte! Congrats on your new job — it definitely sounds like everything worked out for the best. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Posted by Caroline on October 13, 2011 at 7:47 am

    Well done Charlotte ! I have missed you blogs – now please come back – we need you šŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Great to see you back!
    I feel your Ikea-pain! I “did” an entire house by myself with Ikea, including the kitchen! I was dreaming Ikea, talking Ikea, smelling Ikea by the end of it!
    Congratulations on the job, that’s absolutely brilliant!!!!!

    Reply

  7. Posted by slimC! on October 13, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Welcome back!!! Moving is always an ordeal and more excercise than one would think, so im sure the consecuences of the pizza(s) won’t be that bad…
    Congratulations on the new job!!

    Reply

  8. Brilliant news on the job front – really pleased for you. gives you a bit extra cash for all those bejewelled tiebacks and satin throw pillows ;@)

    Reply

  9. Good to see you back Charlotte! And with such great news! A redundancy, job hunt and moving house would be enough to throw anyone off the wagon so I wouldn’t be too hard on yourself. What counts is that you’re back with a new determination. I found the following trick helps keep motivation high: Assume a Karate Kid crane-style pose, make your hands into claws and grit your teeth while shouting ATTACK!

    Reply

  10. So glad to have you back! Looking forward to continuing the journey with you!

    Reply

Leave a comment